ARinc 429 reader for troubleshooting

• Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
9 years 7 months ago - 1 month 1 week ago #15 by
Hi

Did anyone work with ARINC 429 readers for troubleshooting ?? i am new to avionics .like to learn about ARINC readers 429 trouble shooting.i know the theory side.but don't know how to make it for practical use.. any help appreciated..thanks in advance.
Last edit: 1 month 1 week ago by Mark.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 7 months ago #16 by Mark
I have only used a 429 reader a couple of times over the last 20 years. It was interesting to actually "see" the data coming across a data bus.

You could possibly use one to simulate data into a computer, but that would be more on the engineering level.

The nice thing about digital data is that the boxes "know" what signals they should be receiving. Not only that,but what tolerance threshold that data should fall within. Any deviation from the norm will be recorded as a fault. All newer avionics platforms allow for retrieval of those faults.

The computers are actually acting like the data buss analyzers because their "job" relies on proper input data. Flight Fault History and Current Faults are a HUGE troubleshooting tool. All newer aircraft have this data available for use, it's just figuring out how to get it to "talk" to you. Newer Boeing aircraft have it readily available via CFDS. I've found A300's a little more difficult to extract faults.

It's all there. Sometimes some serious "digging" is needed to get it out.

• Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
9 years 7 months ago #17 by
i think what we study theoratically, is different from what we do practicallyy..and i think we need some good training from some manufacture of these arinc readers..even some videos with practical examples will be a great help..

More
9 years 7 months ago - 9 years 7 months ago #18 by Mark
I just found this online.
Last edit: 9 years 7 months ago by Mark.